Friday, June 09, 2006

Street Sounds Special!

In the UK, Morgan Khan made a developing genre of music financially accessible to an entire generation with his Streetsounds Electro series of compilation albums, ("Electro is aural sex!"). One of the biggest indie labels in the UK during the '80s, they helped break hundreds of Black Amercian hip-hop tunes in the UK through its compilations. I've found loads of Streetsounds in charity shops (except for the early Electro compilations which are like gold dust!). The label went bankrupt in the late 80s & closed down. But then it re-appeared in the late 90s to do a re-issue which never really took off. According to rumour, some German guys also bootlegged the first 8 of the Electro series. Back in 1999 Khan acquired the rights to the legendary Chicago tech-house label, Trax Records.
So, put your best foot backwards and retread the past, via some old friends...

The first mix here is the NY Side to the "New York vs LA Beats", classic Old Skool hip-hop tracks mixed together by Mastermind.

01 Afrika Bambaataa & Soulsonic Force - Planet Rock
02 Hashim - Al-Naafiysh (The Soul)
03 Captain Rock - The Return of Captain Rock
04 Aleem - Release Yourself
05 Man Parrish - Hip Hop Be Bop (Don't Stop)
06 Pumpkin - King of the Beat
07 The B-Boys - Two, Three Break
08 The Russell Brothers - The Party Scene (SV)
09 Fresh 3 MC's - Fresh
10 Whodini - Freaks Come Out At Night
11 UTFO - Roxanne, Roxanne

New York vs LA Beats - NY Side

Streetsounds Hip-Hop Electro 11 is worth it (in my opinion) just for the first track, Roxanne Shanté's "Def Fresh Crew", an excellent opener for any mix. I remember Justin Robertson using it for his JDJ mix (which I had on tape & left behind whilst moving house - "I'll never use tapes again" I swore, how wrong I was!)

A1 Roxanne Shanté - Def Fresh Crew
A2 Awesome Foursome - Monster Beat
A3 Captain Rock - You Stink
A4 Disco Four - Get Busy
A5 12:41 - Success Is The Word

Hip-Hop Electro 11 Side A

B1 The B-Boys - Girls - Part 2
B2 Stetsasonic - Just Say Stet
B3 The 2 Live Crew - What I Like
B4 Hashim - Primrose Path
B5 Dr. Jeckyll & Mr. Hyde - Butt Naked

Hip-Hop Electro 11 Side B

This last one (on Westside Records) is a bit of a cheesy megamix including interpretations/covers of "Who Found Who", "Yah Mo B There", "Was Dog a Doughnut", "The Real Thing", "20/20", "Lucky Star", "Jingo", "Bassline" & "Holiday".

Streetsounds Real Thing Mix

A-Z of Electro

Streetsounds albums for sale on ebay

Electro Vault selling Streetsounds

No comments: